STATE OF NEVADA DEPARTMENT OF BUSINESS AND INDUSTRY NEVADA CONSUMER AFFAIRS UNIT

LETTER TO ALL APPLICANTS

ORGANIZATIONS FOR BUYING GOODS OR SERVICES AT DISCOUNT

LINK TO APPLICATION: <u>https://consumeraffairs.nv.gov/</u> (see Business Registration Forms tab)

To: All applicants for a certificate of registration as an organization for buying goods or services at discount

Pursuant to NRS Chapter 598.851, before advertising its services or conducting business in the State of Nevada, an organization for buying goods or services at a discount must register with the Nevada Consumer Affairs Unit pursuant to NRS 598.852 and post security in the amount of \$50,000 with the agency pursuant to NRS 598.853.

It is essential for **organization for buying goods or services at a discount** understand and comply with NRS 598.840 - 598.930, inclusive; the applicable provisions of the Nevada Administrative Code (NAC) Chapter 598; and other statutes and regulations that may apply to its business.

NRS 598.840 – 598.930 and NAC 598 are available on the Legislative website at <u>www.leg.state.nv.us.</u> For your convenience, you will find direct links to NRS 598 and NAC 598 under the "About Us" tab on the Consumer Affairs Unit's website.

NRS 598.840(6) defines "**organization for buying goods or services at a discount**" and other pertinent terms. NRS 598.845 sets forth the organizations that are not subject to the provisions of NRS 598.840 to 598.930, inclusive, and thus are not required to register with the Nevada Consumer Affairs Unit.

A \$25 administrative fee must be submitted along with your application for a certificate of registration.

Security in the form of a letter of credit, certificate of deposit or surety bond must be posted with the Consumer Affairs Unit in the amount of \$50,000. The security must be posted at the time you submit your application and the administrative fee. Please review NRS 598.851, 598.853, 598.854, 598.8541 and 598.855(3) and (4) as they all relate to the security you are required to post.

Your application will not be processed unless you submit each of the following:

- Completed Application for Registration with signed and notarized Sworn Declaration
- \$25 Administrative Fee
- \$50,000 Surety Bond, Letter of Credit or Certificate of Deposit
- Completed Business Questionnaire with signed and notarized Sworn Declaration
- A copy of the business license for the organization
- A copy of the organization's Certificate of Good Standing

Certificates of registration expire one year after issuance and are not transferable or assignable.

Please review and make sure you are in compliance with the requirements in NRS 598.840 – 598.930, inclusive, regarding trust account requirements; required disclosures to buyers; membership contract requirements; cancellation of contracts; refunds; false and misleading statements; remedies; and what are deemed to be deceptive trade practices.

The information in this letter is not legal advice. The statutes and regulations referenced herein may be periodically updated or changed. Please refer to <u>www.leg.state.nv.us</u> for the most current version of applicable statutes and regulations.